#51 You Don’t Have To Win Every Argument — Agree to Disagree

This is a lesson your mom is still working on. I can’t lie–I like to have the last word.

Truth of the matter is that you will never make everyone agree with you. Sometimes that can be frustrating and other times it can be beautiful. Sometimes someone who has a different view point than yourself can really open your eyes. Especially when as humans we tend to have tunnel vision at times–seeing only what we want to see.

One thing that has helped me with this piece of advice is you. Your dad and I definitely have different opinions on parenting at times–from what you should eat to what you should wear. Being able to disagree but still find a solution that has enough common ground for us both to be happy has helped you survive your first year of life! The gentle give and take of our parenting styles has worked to make you a pretty well rounded kid this far.

Also as a new parent everyone has advice for how best to do–well just about EVERYTHING! I quickly had to learn to take the advice with a smile and nod and not spend hours futilely defending my point. Being a parent has really made me realize that sometimes people just do things differently.  Not wrong, just different.

If you have my personality I’m sure you will find yourself fighting for the last word like I always do. I just hope you will know that sometimes its best just to agree to disagree.

However when it comes to Justin Bieber (Yes this may be a long running inside joke)..

This post is an elaboration on an article written by Regina Brett which inspired the start of this blog. You may read her article in full here.

3 thoughts on “#51 You Don’t Have To Win Every Argument — Agree to Disagree

  1. Oh- I’m so that person, too- Always has to have the last word. I’m working on it. Have you read The Happiness Project? Gretchen Rubin talks about a tendency to ward “one-upmanship” which is something I found I’m guilty of- “Oh, I’m climbing Mt. Kilmanjaro next year”….”Really? I climbed Everest last year!” Not really- but that’s the idea. I try to be more aware of it- Divergent parenting philosophies and approaches are so hard to reconcile. We work through that, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

